The Little Book of Sound Chips Series

The Little Books that speak volumes

What are they? They're a set of 15.5cm square interactive gallery books that are small enough to enjoy on-the-go.

They have easy-to-read sections on the sound chips in the arcades, consoles and home micros.

They're packed with fun facts and beautiful screenshots from games east and west, all linked to YouTube through a QR codes and hyperlinks.

Now available:

Volume 1 - 1977 - 1981

  • Atari VCS
  • Bally Astrocade
  • Odyssey^2
  • Atari HCS (400/800/XL/XE)
  • Intellivision
  • Colecovision
  • Master System
  • VIC-20
  • BBC Micro
  • Aquarius
  • MSX1
  • ORIC
  • Vectrex
  • Amstrad CPC
  • ZX Spectrum 128
  • Tandy 1000
  • Speccy Beepers!

This volume also has special features on speech synthesis in the arcade and home, and articles about music generation, noise generation and beeper samples from experts in the field including legendary Psygnosis composer Mike Clarke.

Coming later:

Volume 2 - 1982-1986 (Arcade games from Atari, Sega, Capcom and more, NES and expansions, C64, Amiga, Atari ST, Apple IIGS, MSX2)

Volume 3 - 1987-1991 (SNES, Mega Drive, PC Gaming and more)

Volume 4 - 1992-2004 (including the golden age of arcades with Capcom and Midway, and generation 5 and 6 home consoles such as Saturn, N64, PlayStation, PlayStation 2, Dreamcast, GameCube and Xbox).