Project Hubbard: Standard (Pre-order)


Digital: £23.00, CDs: £37.00 + postage (there are two options: if you can't see the option you want in a dropdown box above, press refresh)

A set of three albums, all with the input of Rob Hubbard. Available in CD (with digital included) or just digital format.

  • Hubbard '80 - a 15 track "Premix" album
  • Alt-SIDs - 14 new SIDs plus a bonus extended SID composed by Rob Hubbard and created by Jason Page and Rob himself.
  • Rob Hubbard Archive - a double album of unreleased audio tracks and rare material.


"Hubbard '80" - 15 track "Premix" Album

What if in 1979 Rob was a successful electronic recording artist, and the later SIDs were actually covers of tracks from Rob's forthcoming much-anticipated album "Hubbard '80" (released: January 3rd, 1980)?

Rob himself and Marcel Donné are teaming up to create this missing album. It will use classic modular synths, occasional live players such as studio strings and horns, and will use only sounds that could have been created with technology available in 1979 (for a 1980 release).

In these tracks, you will be able to hear the 1979 version of the sound design that later would push the SID to its limits.

Rob's 1979 studio for this album would have looked a bit like this: 

  • Minimoog
  • big Moog 55
  • ARP2600
  • VCS3
  • Solina String Ensemble
  • prophet 5
  • CS80
  • MS20
  • PS3200

... plus occasional borrowed synths and live players, largely sequenced on the Roland MC8. Expect the vinyl to contain a lot of synth beauty shots!

Here's a sample of what that setup sounds like, with Lightforce (WIP, incomplete).

In this project, we imagine that track came first in 1980, and was converted to the SID later, with great results!

Available on CD and digital (MP3/FLAC).

You can order a vinyl here and a cassette here.



An album of at least 10 new Rob Hubbard SIDs. 

Some of Rob's SIDs were based on previous synth tunes he wrote (for instance, WAR and Chimera). 

In another Universe he might have chosen differently. Here, Jason Page and Rob raid Rob's back catalogue for SIDs that never were, and create the ultimate authentic sounding never-SIDs. 

Here's a medley of three of the new SIDs: "Don't Step on My Wire", from the extended Kickstarter video, "Casio" and "Task Force". Classic Rob sound, classic Rob music.



The Rob Hubbard Archive

A double audio album of a wide range of archive material, including lost tracks, soundtracks and rarities. Guaranteed that you haven't heard most of these Rob Hubbard tracks! 

  • Studio tracks from pre-SID in their original form, including "Work Opera", the soundtrack for a TV programme for Tyne Tees with Steve Daggett.
  • Lost PC and Sega Genesis soundtracks, some previously unreleased.
  • Other tracks from Rob's personal history re-orchestrated by Rob himself.

Here's an example from Rob's archive: it's called "Mr Meaner".



Related Products