Project Hubbard: Standard (Pre-order)


Digital: £23.00, CDs: £37.00 + postage (there are two options: if you can't see the option you want in a dropdown box above, press refresh)

  • Rob Returns - 15 new Rob Hubbard SIDs plus a bonus extended SID.
  • Hubbard '80 - a "Premix" album where Rob and producer Marcel Donné and modular synths create some definitive recordings of his tracks including Thalamusik (Sanxion), WAR, Lightforce, Chimera High Score and more.
  • Rob Hubbard Archive - a double album of unreleased audio tracks and rare material such as "Work Opera", rare 1980s tracks, and much more.
  • BONUSES: a complete downloadable, painstakingly tagged collection of Rob's SID music subtunes in MP3 for your media player recorded by Chris Whillock using his SIDFX dual-SID setup. Tunes such as Dragon's Lair II sound utterly amazing. 

Standard or Deluxe?

Project Hubbard is also available in "Deluxe" form, where you get everything in the Standard edition plus:

  • FastLoaders' Rock Hubbard
  • Uncle and the Bacon's "Rob and the Bacon"
  • "Hubbard Remixed"
  • "Robdez-Vous Special Edition"
  • HQ 24/96 audio where available, and video
  • a free music editor "RobTracker" for Windows, written by Jason Page and which compiles to (and ships with) Rob's source code
  • the SIDs/PRGs for Rob Returns
  • the full download of all of Rob's C64 tunes and sound effects recorded for "Project Hubbard SID Effects" in 24/96 FLAC
  • Some source code
  • and more!

Deluxe backers can already download Fastloaders' "Rock Hubbard", "Rob and the Bacon", and "Project Hubbard SID Effects" and will shortly be able to download "Escape from New Rob" - the John Carpenter-y album from legendary VGM musician Mark Knight.

If you backed the Kickstarter at standard level and want to upgrade to this package, use this link.

Rob Returns

We actually got Rob Hubbard back to programming SID! This was a major achievement only made possible because of the enthusiastic reaction to the Kickstarter. 15 year-old you is squealing right now!

Here's what you will enjoy:

  1. Lakers vs Celtics - an unused tune for the game of the same now in SID. Triumphant!
  2. Pygmies Revenge - a tune that sits happily in the Zoids/Spellbound mould
  3. Casio (7 Inch Mix) - Synth Sample III tune #1 as it was originally conceived
  4. Mr Meaner - a blues-y romp
  5. Radio Ace - the legendary magazine cover tape tune, only ever partially heard (this will also be in the project in its original form in full)
  6. Go Go Dash - composed for Hull College's free mobile game of the same name, available at all good app stores. Shades of Shockway Rider, Speedball and even a little hint of Commando.
  7. Off the Cuff - an uplifting high score tune with an insanely hummable melody
  8. Lionheart - bouncy and funky. 
  9. After 8 - Chilled and relaxing, but also musically sophisticated. Rob's musical playfulness is on full display here.
  10. Don't Step On My Wire - a funky synth tune composed by Rob in the 1980s, and the first tune put together by Jason and Rob for the Kickstarter. As used in the "Rob's Life" game.
  11. Pacific - a SID rendition of "Pacific Coast Highway" from "Road Rash 2", one of Rob's favourite of his Megadrive tunes.
  12. Sun Never Shines - another Rob 1980s synth piece that perhaps becomes even more emotional in SID form.
  13. Rikky - a SID rendition of a soaring piece written for a Kickstarter than never delivered
  14. Task Force - a tune could easily be a lost Dragon's Lair II theme, and which was one of the stand-out tunes in Rob's "Work Opera", recorded with Steve Daggett in the 80s. Backers of Project Hubbard will also be able to hear this amazing recording in full (imagine Rob H. running round the studio tweaking knobs and flicking switches in real-time).
  15. Casio 12" mix, with rocking solo.
  16. The Rock Tells the Tale - the musical tale of an ancient rock, and the tales it could tell of history if it could speak. A SID to listen to over and over and still find something new, and the first SID Rob programmed for the project in his text editor.


"Hubbard '80" - "Premix" Album

What if in 1979 Rob was a successful electronic recording artist, and the later SIDs were actually covers of tracks from Rob's forthcoming much-anticipated album "Hubbard '80" (released: January 3rd, 1980)?

Rob himself and Marcel Donné are teaming up to create this missing album. It will use classic modular synths, occasional live players such as studio strings and horns, and will use only sounds that could have been created with technology available in 1979 (for a 1980 release).

In these tracks, you will be able to hear the 1979 version of the sound design that later would push the SID to its limits.

Rob's 1979 studio for this album would have looked a bit like this: 

  • Minimoog
  • big Moog 55
  • ARP2600
  • VCS3
  • Solina String Ensemble
  • prophet 5
  • CS80
  • MS20
  • PS3200

... plus occasional borrowed synths and live players, largely sequenced on the Roland MC8. Expect the vinyl to contain a lot of synth beauty shots!

Here's a sample of what that setup sounds like, with Lightforce (WIP, incomplete).

In this project, we imagine that track came first in 1980, and was converted to the SID later, with great results!

Available on CD and digital (MP3/FLAC).

You can order a vinyl here and a cassette here.


The Rob Hubbard Archive

A double audio album of a wide range of archive material, including lost tracks, soundtracks and rarities. Guaranteed that you haven't heard most of these Rob Hubbard tracks! 

  • Studio tracks from pre-SID in their original form, including "Work Opera", the soundtrack for a TV programme for Tyne Tees with Steve Daggett.
  • Lost PC and Sega Genesis soundtracks, some previously unreleased.
  • Other tracks from Rob's personal history re-orchestrated by Rob himself.

Here's an example from Rob's archive: it's called "Mr Meaner". This became a SID on alt-SIDs with an entirely different interpretation by Rob.



Related Products